s4: fixed howto for new binary name
authorAndrew Tridgell <tridge@samba.org>
Sat, 17 Oct 2009 09:10:03 +0000 (20:10 +1100)
committerAndrew Tridgell <tridge@samba.org>
Sat, 17 Oct 2009 20:13:46 +0000 (07:13 +1100)
howto4.txt

index 3ae225ddb872aead2eb4795c57a167e8d147c3a2..3ae5af18f307522e139d1f9b98dfcc272cdb0b0c 100644 (file)
@@ -101,18 +101,18 @@ example::
 Step 6: starting Samba4
 -----------------------
 
 Step 6: starting Samba4
 -----------------------
 
-The simplest is to just run "smbd", but as a developer you may find
+The simplest is to just run "samba", but as a developer you may find
 the following more useful::
 
 the following more useful::
 
-   # smbd -i -M single
+   # samba -i -M single
 
 
-that means "start smbd without messages in stdout, and running a
-single process. That mode of operation makes debugging smbd with gdb
+that means "start samba without messages in stdout, and running a
+single process. That mode of operation makes debugging samba with gdb
 particularly easy.
 
 Note that now it is no longer necessary to have an instance of nmbd
 from Samba 3 running.  If you are running any smbd or nmbd processes
 particularly easy.
 
 Note that now it is no longer necessary to have an instance of nmbd
 from Samba 3 running.  If you are running any smbd or nmbd processes
-they need to be stopped before starting smbd from Samba 4.
+they need to be stopped before starting samba from Samba 4.
 
 Make sure you put the bin and sbin directories from your new install
 in your $PATH. Make sure you run the right version!
 
 Make sure you put the bin and sbin directories from your new install
 in your $PATH. Make sure you run the right version!