s3:docs: clarify explanation of the allocator in the idmap_tdb manpage
authorMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Wed, 21 Jan 2009 09:55:19 +0000 (10:55 +0100)
committerMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Wed, 21 Jan 2009 09:56:56 +0000 (10:56 +0100)
Michael

docs-xml/manpages-3/idmap_tdb.8.xml

index fb23076d088739e437f0a885b4237b0f3f12692d..2b4c050966b2598463c310f28cc7202c6416ba6e 100644 (file)
 
        <para>
        The idmap_tdb plugin is the default backend used by winbindd
 
        <para>
        The idmap_tdb plugin is the default backend used by winbindd
-       for storing SID/uid/gid mapping tables. In contrast to read only
-       backends like idmap_rid, it is an allocating backend:
-       This means that it needs to allocate new user and group IDs
-       to create new mappings as requests to yet unmapped users are answered.
+       for storing SID/uid/gid mapping tables.
+       </para>
+
+       <para>
+       In contrast to read only backends like idmap_rid, it is an allocating
+       backend: This means that it needs to allocate new user and group IDs in
+       order to create new mappings. The allocator can be provided by the
+       idmap_tdb backend itself or by any other allocating backend like
+       idmap_ldap or idmap_tdb2. This is configured with the
+       parameter <parameter>idmap alloc backend</parameter>.
        </para>
 
        <para>
        </para>
 
        <para>