Update the developers documentation for the new vendor version options.
authorAndreas Schneider <anschneider@suse.de>
Thu, 17 Jul 2008 11:37:31 +0000 (13:37 +0200)
committerStefan Metzmacher <metze@samba.org>
Thu, 17 Jul 2008 12:20:33 +0000 (14:20 +0200)
Signed-off-by: Andreas Schneider <anschneider@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Stefan Metzmacher <metze@samba.org>
(This used to be commit 815383a4178c51311f3c81632a0fa1d19e7098f4)

docs-xml/Samba3-Developers-Guide/packagers.xml

index 8b8eccacc762ffc388ade104ae88fa002879483a..853dad95e717bf6a3eb887738c64318c5e19b4de 100644 (file)
 <title>Versioning</title>
 
 <para>
 <title>Versioning</title>
 
 <para>
-Please, please update the version number in <filename>source/include/version.h</filename> to include the
-versioning of your package. This makes it easier to distinguish standard samba builds from custom-build samba
-builds (distributions often patch packages). For example, a good version would be:
+Please, please set the vendor version suffix and number in <filename>source/VERSION</filename> and call
+<filename>source/script/mkvesion.sh</filename> to include the versioning of your package. There is also
+the possibility to set a function to create the vendor version. This makes it easier to distinguish
+standard samba builds from custom-build samba builds (distributions often patch packages). For example,
+a good version would be:
 </para>
 
 <para><programlisting>
 </para>
 
 <para><programlisting>