s3:doc: add some detail about lanman auth parameter
authorBjörn Jacke <bj@sernet.de>
Fri, 2 Oct 2009 15:55:50 +0000 (17:55 +0200)
committerBjörn Jacke <bj@sernet.de>
Fri, 2 Oct 2009 22:22:51 +0000 (00:22 +0200)
add interesting detail: lm passwords will be removed from databaѕe with
lanman auth = no

docs-xml/smbdotconf/security/lanmanauth.xml

index 4e68c5e03aa16b5c5529343c475f7f75e2cf7911..e055bd35f1af8b3b5c56024aae964d1aac558fc4 100644 (file)
     case-insensitive nature, and the choice of algorithm.  Servers
     without Windows 95/98/ME or MS DOS clients are advised to disable
     this option.  </para>
     case-insensitive nature, and the choice of algorithm.  Servers
     without Windows 95/98/ME or MS DOS clients are advised to disable
     this option.  </para>
+
+    <para>When this parameter is set to <value>no</value> this
+    will also result in sambaLMPassword in Samba's passdb being
+    blanked after the next password change. As a result of that
+    lanman clients won't be able to authenticate, even if lanman
+    auth is reenabled later on.
+    </para>
                
     <para>Unlike the <command moreinfo="none">encrypt
     passwords</command> option, this parameter cannot alter client
                
     <para>Unlike the <command moreinfo="none">encrypt
     passwords</command> option, this parameter cannot alter client