WHATSNEW: document new inherit owner option
authorUri Simchoni <uri@samba.org>
Wed, 10 Aug 2016 05:38:59 +0000 (08:38 +0300)
committerUri Simchoni <uri@samba.org>
Thu, 24 Nov 2016 19:23:46 +0000 (20:23 +0100)
Signed-off-by: Uri Simchoni <uri@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Rowland Penny <rpenny@samba.org>
Autobuild-User(master): Uri Simchoni <uri@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date(master): Thu Nov 24 20:23:46 CET 2016 on sn-devel-144

WHATSNEW.txt

index 09f9384..6778a0a 100644 (file)
@@ -32,6 +32,16 @@ This can solves some corner cases of mixed environments with Server 2003R2 and
 newer DCs.
 
 
+new option for owner inheritance
+--------------------------------
+The "inherit owner" smb.conf parameter instructs smbd to set the
+owner of files to be the same as the parent directory's owner.
+Up until now, this parameter could be set to "yes" or "no".
+A new option, "unix only", enables this feature only for the UNIX owner
+of the file, not affecting the SID owner in the Windows NT ACL of the
+file. This can be used to emulate something very similar to folder quotas.
+
+
 REMOVED FEATURES
 ================
 
@@ -42,6 +52,7 @@ smb.conf changes
   Parameter Name                Description             Default
   --------------                -----------             -------
   kerberos encryption types     New                     all
+  inherit owner                 New option
 
 
 KNOWN ISSUES