rsync.git
11 hours agoPreparing for release of 3.2.4pre3 master v3.2.4pre3
Wayne Davison [Wed, 19 Jan 2022 07:47:45 +0000 (23:47 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.2.4pre3

12 hours agoTweak rrsync rules in the Makefile.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 19 Jan 2022 07:01:48 +0000 (23:01 -0800)]
Tweak rrsync rules in the Makefile.

12 hours agoAdd some arg-escaping tests.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 19 Jan 2022 06:43:25 +0000 (22:43 -0800)]
Add some arg-escaping tests.

12 hours agoDon't backslash-escape args for a local transfer.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 19 Jan 2022 06:42:20 +0000 (22:42 -0800)]
Don't backslash-escape args for a local transfer.

12 hours agoAdd missing ">".
Wayne Davison [Wed, 19 Jan 2022 05:56:05 +0000 (21:56 -0800)]
Add missing ">".

37 hours agoSilence some symlink mode-change failures.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 06:12:21 +0000 (22:12 -0800)]
Silence some symlink mode-change failures.

38 hours agoFix a broken link & make a tweak.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 04:44:16 +0000 (20:44 -0800)]
Fix a broken link & make a tweak.

39 hours agoFacilitate the next release.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 03:25:02 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
Facilitate the next release.

40 hours agoTweak some rrsync rules for cleanup & release.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 02:37:01 +0000 (18:37 -0800)]
Tweak some rrsync rules for cleanup & release.

41 hours agoHandle html link targets in a better way.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 01:59:18 +0000 (17:59 -0800)]
Handle html link targets in a better way.

41 hours agoFix `--old-args` interaction with a daemon
Wayne Davison [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 01:12:43 +0000 (17:12 -0800)]
Fix `--old-args` interaction with a daemon

Ensure that a remote rsync daemon will not split a filename arg unless
the user asked for `--old-args`.

41 hours agoComplain about --old-args with --protect-args.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 01:11:58 +0000 (17:11 -0800)]
Complain about --old-args with --protect-args.

41 hours agoMore man & NEWS enhancements, including linking to env vars.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 18 Jan 2022 01:10:08 +0000 (17:10 -0800)]
More man & NEWS enhancements, including linking to env vars.

3 days agoMore man page and NEWS improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 16:56:51 +0000 (08:56 -0800)]
More man page and NEWS improvements.

- Add link targets for all option choices, not just the first one.
- Tweak cross-link arg format.
- Add more links, including some in the latest NEWS.
- Split out a few numbered lists.

3 days agoFix some typos mentioned in the fossies report.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 14:49:15 +0000 (06:49 -0800)]
Fix some typos mentioned in the fossies report.

3 days agoIt's OK to capitalize rsync at the start of a sentence.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 05:44:26 +0000 (21:44 -0800)]
It's OK to capitalize rsync at the start of a sentence.

3 days agoSome NEWS.html improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 04:56:22 +0000 (20:56 -0800)]
Some NEWS.html improvements.

- Improve NEWS heading's link targets using version info.
- Optimize regex compilation.
- Make sure every link target is unique.
- Allow link targets to start with a number.

3 days agoRemove `<a name=...>` tags.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 04:55:54 +0000 (20:55 -0800)]
Remove `<a name=...>` tags.

3 days agoGet md-convert to output the release html files in the right dir.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 02:59:11 +0000 (18:59 -0800)]
Get md-convert to output the release html files in the right dir.

3 days agoPreparing for release of 3.2.4pre2 v3.2.4pre2
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 01:21:01 +0000 (17:21 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.2.4pre2

3 days agoUse standard "git diff" for full diff highlighting support.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 01:20:11 +0000 (17:20 -0800)]
Use standard "git diff" for full diff highlighting support.

3 days agoEven more man page improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 16 Jan 2022 01:11:06 +0000 (17:11 -0800)]
Even more man page improvements.

3 days agoMan page improvments, including html cross-links.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 15 Jan 2022 23:48:14 +0000 (15:48 -0800)]
Man page improvments, including html cross-links.

4 days agoA few more man page format tweaks.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2022 22:03:27 +0000 (14:03 -0800)]
A few more man page format tweaks.

4 days agoMake it easier to get section links.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2022 21:55:22 +0000 (13:55 -0800)]
Make it easier to get section links.

5 days agoAdd more link targets to html man pages.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2022 07:39:40 +0000 (23:39 -0800)]
Add more link targets to html man pages.

5 days agoTweak a caveat.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2022 07:31:43 +0000 (23:31 -0800)]
Tweak a caveat.

6 days agoDisplay ??:??:?? when a time estimate gets too big.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 13 Jan 2022 16:11:50 +0000 (08:11 -0800)]
Display ??:??:?? when a time estimate gets too big.

6 days agoAvoid a -8 in the progress output's remaining time
Wayne Davison [Thu, 13 Jan 2022 03:50:58 +0000 (19:50 -0800)]
Avoid a -8 in the progress output's remaining time

If the double "remain" value is so large that it overflows an int, make
the estimated seconds output as :00 instead of :-8.  Similar for the
estimated remaining minutes.  Support larger hours values.

6 days agoSome symlink improvements to the man page.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 13 Jan 2022 00:42:40 +0000 (16:42 -0800)]
Some symlink improvements to the man page.

6 days agoChange manpage headings in html to use h2 tags with an id target.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 13 Jan 2022 00:41:36 +0000 (16:41 -0800)]
Change manpage headings in html to use h2 tags with an id target.

9 days agoA repeated `--old-args` does more escape disabling.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 10 Jan 2022 02:20:20 +0000 (18:20 -0800)]
A repeated `--old-args` does more escape disabling.

9 days agoAdd an arg-protection idiom using backslash-escapes
Wayne Davison [Mon, 10 Jan 2022 01:35:39 +0000 (17:35 -0800)]
Add an arg-protection idiom using backslash-escapes

The new default is to protect args and options from unintended shell
interpretation using backslash escapes.  See the new `--old-args` option
for a way to get the old-style splitting.  This idiom was chosen over
making `--protect-args` enabled by default because it is more backward
compatible (e.g. it works with rrsync). Fixes #272.

9 days agoTweak a comment.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 9 Jan 2022 22:03:31 +0000 (14:03 -0800)]
Tweak a comment.

9 days agoImprove `--copy-links` description.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 9 Jan 2022 20:20:46 +0000 (12:20 -0800)]
Improve `--copy-links` description.

9 days agoAllow someone to specify scratchbase=FOO for runtests.sh.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 9 Jan 2022 19:40:41 +0000 (11:40 -0800)]
Allow someone to specify scratchbase=FOO for runtests.sh.

2 weeks agoImprove rrsync usage and some more NEWS tweaks.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2022 08:37:57 +0000 (00:37 -0800)]
Improve rrsync usage and some more NEWS tweaks.

2 weeks agoMore NEWS improvements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2022 08:02:28 +0000 (00:02 -0800)]
More NEWS improvements.

2 weeks agoOnly send the `--no-W` kluge to a receiver.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2022 07:51:04 +0000 (23:51 -0800)]
Only send the `--no-W` kluge to a receiver.

2 weeks agoPreparing for release of 3.2.4pre1 v3.2.4pre1
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2022 23:13:19 +0000 (15:13 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.2.4pre1

2 weeks agoTweak stderr handling for older BackupPC versions
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2022 22:46:27 +0000 (14:46 -0800)]
Tweak stderr handling for older BackupPC versions

This makes the default for a protocol-28 server process be --stderr=client
instead of --stderr=errors.  See rsync's github issue #95.

2 weeks agoA couple man page improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2022 22:43:30 +0000 (14:43 -0800)]
A couple man page improvements.

2 weeks agoTime-limit options are not being checked enough (#179)
Rodrigo Osorio [Sun, 2 Jan 2022 22:37:27 +0000 (23:37 +0100)]
Time-limit options are not being checked enough (#179)

The `--stop-at`, `--stop-after`, and `--time-limit`` options should have their
limit checked when receiving and sending data, not just when receiving.
Fixes #177.

2 weeks agoSome compression improvements.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 31 Dec 2021 18:58:19 +0000 (10:58 -0800)]
Some compression improvements.

The compression level of the first file in the transfer no longer sets
the level for all files that follow it.  Document that per-file level
switching has no current effect (except for a global "dont compress = *"
rule in the daemon).

2 weeks agoAdd error-code ignoring options to atomic-rsync.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 30 Dec 2021 20:29:14 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
Add error-code ignoring options to atomic-rsync.

2 weeks agoTweak the rrsync man page.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 30 Dec 2021 20:28:16 +0000 (12:28 -0800)]
Tweak the rrsync man page.

2 weeks agoFix rrsync directory normalization (#268)
Marco Nenciarini [Thu, 30 Dec 2021 16:59:17 +0000 (17:59 +0100)]
Fix rrsync directory normalization (#268)

Fix an off-by-one in the `args.dir_slash_len` variable that leads to base every absolute path on `/`

3 weeks agoAdd a default single-access lock.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 28 Dec 2021 01:44:32 +0000 (17:44 -0800)]
Add a default single-access lock.

3 weeks agoChange args to maybe-make-man.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 28 Dec 2021 01:40:31 +0000 (17:40 -0800)]
Change args to maybe-make-man.

3 weeks agoInclude "rrsync" in "all" target when `--with-rrsync` was used.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Dec 2021 23:44:51 +0000 (15:44 -0800)]
Include "rrsync" in "all" target when `--with-rrsync` was used.

3 weeks agoUnify md parsing scripts & improve non-man html conversions.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Dec 2021 22:19:11 +0000 (14:19 -0800)]
Unify md parsing scripts & improve non-man html conversions.

3 weeks agoRename md2man.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Dec 2021 21:42:19 +0000 (13:42 -0800)]
Rename md2man.

3 weeks agoAdd more backticks.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Dec 2021 21:11:23 +0000 (13:11 -0800)]
Add more backticks.

3 weeks agoIgnore the built rrsync man-page files.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Dec 2021 20:10:31 +0000 (12:10 -0800)]
Ignore the built rrsync man-page files.

3 weeks agoTest --with-rrsync configure option & put rrsync into the artifacts.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Dec 2021 22:48:55 +0000 (14:48 -0800)]
Test --with-rrsync configure option & put rrsync into the artifacts.

3 weeks agoUse mallinfo2, when available, and use %zd for size_t values on C99.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Dec 2021 22:23:19 +0000 (14:23 -0800)]
Use mallinfo2, when available, and use %zd for size_t values on C99.

An exhanced version of pull request #265.

3 weeks agorrsync improvements
Wayne Davison [Sun, 26 Dec 2021 20:29:00 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
rrsync improvements

- Convert rrsync to python.
- Enhance security of arg & option checking.
- Reject `-L` (`--copy-links`) by default.
- Add `-munge` and `-no-del` options.
- Tweak the logfile line format.
- Created an rrsync man page.
- Use `configure --with-rrsync` if you want `make install` to install
  rrsync and its man page.
- Give lsh more rrsync testing support.

4 weeks agoConvert atomic-rsync to python.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 21 Dec 2021 01:28:18 +0000 (17:28 -0800)]
Convert atomic-rsync to python.

4 weeks agoConvert munge-symlinks to python.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 21 Dec 2021 00:08:34 +0000 (16:08 -0800)]
Convert munge-symlinks to python.

4 weeks agoMake rrsync default to munged symlinks.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 20 Dec 2021 23:13:50 +0000 (15:13 -0800)]
Make rrsync default to munged symlinks.

4 weeks agoAdd options to assist in localhost rrsync testing.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 20 Dec 2021 22:25:19 +0000 (14:25 -0800)]
Add options to assist in localhost rrsync testing.

4 weeks agoAdd --munge-links rsync option; convert to python.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 20 Dec 2021 21:34:05 +0000 (13:34 -0800)]
Add --munge-links rsync option; convert to python.

2 months agoImprove a couple support scripts:
Wayne Davison [Sat, 13 Nov 2021 17:30:08 +0000 (09:30 -0800)]
Improve a couple support scripts:

- rsync-no-vanished now avoids joining stdout & stderr, avoids affecting
  a non-client run, and gets the rsync status code correctly.
- rsync-slash-strip now avoids affecting a non-client run.

2 months agoimproved cross compilation detection (#252)
Andrew Aladjev [Sun, 7 Nov 2021 19:45:49 +0000 (22:45 +0300)]
improved cross compilation detection (#252)

2 months agoshell: test -a|o is not POSIX (#250)
Issam Maghni [Sun, 7 Nov 2021 18:23:01 +0000 (13:23 -0500)]
shell: test -a|o is not POSIX (#250)

2 months agoAdd closing backticks that Itzoke pointed out.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 7 Nov 2021 18:11:12 +0000 (10:11 -0800)]
Add closing backticks that Itzoke pointed out.

2 months agoAdd the --info=NONREG setting.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 3 Nov 2021 16:35:50 +0000 (09:35 -0700)]
Add the --info=NONREG setting.

2 months agoMore NEWS changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 30 Oct 2021 22:58:01 +0000 (15:58 -0700)]
More NEWS changes.

2 months agoFix the ability to read the user's numeric locale.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 30 Oct 2021 03:06:06 +0000 (20:06 -0700)]
Fix the ability to read the user's numeric locale.

3 months agoUpdate the NEWS.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 20 Oct 2021 04:10:59 +0000 (21:10 -0700)]
Update the NEWS.

3 months agoMake --chown|--usermap|--groupmap imply -o|-g (as appropriate).
Wayne Davison [Wed, 20 Oct 2021 04:01:58 +0000 (21:01 -0700)]
Make --chown|--usermap|--groupmap imply -o|-g (as appropriate).

3 months agoAllow a "%scope" suffix on the client's ipv6 addr.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 17 Oct 2021 20:35:29 +0000 (13:35 -0700)]
Allow a "%scope" suffix on the client's ipv6 addr.
Hopefully fixes bug #239.

3 months agoLinux: Handle protected_regular in inplace writes (#241)
Achim Leitner [Sun, 17 Oct 2021 20:00:24 +0000 (22:00 +0200)]
Linux: Handle protected_regular in inplace writes (#241)

The Linux fs.protected_regular sysctl setting could cause rsync to fail to write a file in-place with the O_CREAT flag set, so the code now tries an open without O_CREAT when it might help to avoid an EACCES error.  A testsuite script is included (and slightly improved by Wayne to ensure that it outputs a SKIP when fs.protected_regular is turned off).

3 months agoAdd more skipped verifications. [buildall]
Wayne Davison [Sun, 17 Oct 2021 19:40:24 +0000 (12:40 -0700)]
Add more skipped verifications. [buildall]

3 months agoTweak output about skipped tests.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 17 Oct 2021 18:56:58 +0000 (11:56 -0700)]
Tweak output about skipped tests.

3 months agoChange RSYNX_MAX_SKIPPED to RSYNC_EXPECT_SKIPPED.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 17 Oct 2021 18:32:06 +0000 (11:32 -0700)]
Change RSYNX_MAX_SKIPPED to RSYNC_EXPECT_SKIPPED.

3 months agoA couple minor tweaks.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 13 Oct 2021 17:39:44 +0000 (10:39 -0700)]
A couple minor tweaks.

3 months agoWe need stat memcpy.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 21:01:59 +0000 (14:01 -0700)]
We need stat memcpy.

3 months agoImprove --omit-dir-times & --omit-link-times
Wayne Davison [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 20:32:19 +0000 (13:32 -0700)]
Improve --omit-dir-times & --omit-link-times

The code now better handles skipping time setting on dirs and/or links
when --atimes and/or --crtimes is specified without --times.

3 months agoTweak atime/crtime code a bit more.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 18:45:14 +0000 (11:45 -0700)]
Tweak atime/crtime code a bit more.

3 months agoAvoid spurious warning about "code" var not being initialized.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 17:04:54 +0000 (10:04 -0700)]
Avoid spurious warning about "code" var not being initialized.

3 months agoUnify on "path" vs "fname" arg naming.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 16:53:35 +0000 (09:53 -0700)]
Unify on "path" vs "fname" arg naming.

3 months agoChange do_lchmod() back to a swtich with some better ENOTSUP & ENOSYS logic.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 10 Oct 2021 16:20:13 +0000 (09:20 -0700)]
Change do_lchmod() back to a swtich with some better ENOTSUP & ENOSYS logic.

3 months agoSome packaging improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 3 Oct 2021 19:02:58 +0000 (12:02 -0700)]
Some packaging improvements.

3 months agoEnable --atimes on macOS.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 2 Oct 2021 17:16:58 +0000 (10:16 -0700)]
Enable --atimes on macOS.

3 months agoCheck ro in set_create_time() for Cygwin too.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 2 Oct 2021 18:39:41 +0000 (11:39 -0700)]
Check ro in set_create_time() for Cygwin too.

3 months agoAvoid an issue where the size of st_dev != dev_t.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 1 Oct 2021 21:21:26 +0000 (14:21 -0700)]
Avoid an issue where the size of st_dev != dev_t.

3 months agoAlways run `mkgitver` prior to a build
Wayne Davison [Fri, 1 Oct 2021 21:13:00 +0000 (14:13 -0700)]
Always run `mkgitver` prior to a build

Some hosts were not running `mkgitver` when they should, so tweak the
script to only update the timestamp when the file's data changes and
then always run the script when performing a build.

3 months agoAdd more NEWS updates.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 1 Oct 2021 20:40:07 +0000 (13:40 -0700)]
Add more NEWS updates.

3 months agoChange do_chmod to always try lchmod() first (when possible).
Wayne Davison [Fri, 1 Oct 2021 20:28:57 +0000 (13:28 -0700)]
Change do_chmod to always try lchmod() first (when possible).

3 months agoAdd a couple more options to rrsync.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 1 Oct 2021 20:24:51 +0000 (13:24 -0700)]
Add a couple more options to rrsync.

3 months agoAllow the script to be run from inside the packaging dir.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 1 Oct 2021 20:23:30 +0000 (13:23 -0700)]
Allow the script to be run from inside the packaging dir.

3 months agoReduce memory usage (#235)
Jindřich Makovička [Fri, 1 Oct 2021 19:04:59 +0000 (21:04 +0200)]
Reduce memory usage (#235)

In 2004, an allocation optimization has been added to the file
list handling code, that preallocates 32k of file_struct pointers
in a file_list. This optimization predates the incremental
recursion feature, for which it is not appropriate anymore. When
copying a tree containing a large number of small directories,
using the incremental recursion, rsync allocates many short
file_lists. Suddenly, the unused file_struct pointers can easily
take 90-95% of the memory allocated by rsync.

3 months agoTweak SIMD & ASM option defaults.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 18:09:43 +0000 (11:09 -0700)]
Tweak SIMD & ASM option defaults.

3 months agoMake cygwin's curl grab the gist file. [buildall]
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 17:33:00 +0000 (10:33 -0700)]
Make cygwin's curl grab the gist file. [buildall]

3 months agoAdd --fsync option (promoted from patches).
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 17:30:00 +0000 (10:30 -0700)]
Add --fsync option (promoted from patches).

3 months agoHelp avoid a --sparse --inplace bug in older rsyncs.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 17:16:15 +0000 (10:16 -0700)]
Help avoid a --sparse --inplace bug in older rsyncs.

3 months agoFix typo.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 02:27:46 +0000 (19:27 -0700)]
Fix typo.

3 months agoDon't allow a broken samba host to cause gensend to fail.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 02:11:24 +0000 (19:11 -0700)]
Don't allow a broken samba host to cause gensend to fail.

3 months agoAllow $host_cpu to be amd64 in addition to x86_64.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 27 Sep 2021 02:11:20 +0000 (19:11 -0700)]
Allow $host_cpu to be amd64 in addition to x86_64.