WHATSNEW: Add the update for the samba kcc
authorGarming Sam <garming@catalyst.net.nz>
Thu, 30 Jun 2016 00:19:32 +0000 (12:19 +1200)
committerGarming Sam <garming@samba.org>
Thu, 21 Jul 2016 08:17:52 +0000 (10:17 +0200)
Signed-off-by: Garming Sam <garming@catalyst.net.nz>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Autobuild-User(master): Garming Sam <garming@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date(master): Thu Jul 21 10:17:52 CEST 2016 on sn-devel-144

WHATSNEW.txt

index 93762a4..6c86795 100644 (file)
@@ -25,6 +25,16 @@ The ldap server has support for the LDAP_SERVER_NOTIFICATION_OID
 control. This can be used to monitor the active directory database
 for changes.
 
+KCC improvements for sparse network replication
+-----------------------------------------------
+
+The Samba KCC will now be the default knowledge consistency checker in
+Samba AD. Instead of using full mesh replication between every DC, the
+KCC will set up connections to optimize replication latency and cost
+(using site links to calculate the routes). This change should allow
+larger domains to function significantly better in terms of replication
+traffic and the time spent performing DRS replication.
+
 VLV - Virtual List View
 -----------------------
 
@@ -133,6 +143,7 @@ smb.conf changes
   --------------               -----------             -------
   only user                    Removed
   username                     Removed
+  kccsrv:samba_kcc             Changed default         true
 
 KNOWN ISSUES
 ============