WHATSNEW: Mention code removal from "net" and "rpcclient"
authorVolker Lendecke <vl@samba.org>
Tue, 19 Sep 2017 22:26:55 +0000 (15:26 -0700)
committerJeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Wed, 20 Sep 2017 20:48:15 +0000 (22:48 +0200)
Signed-off-by: Volker Lendecke <vl@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
WHATSNEW.txt

index 428c291..2f2f2f6 100644 (file)
@@ -41,6 +41,28 @@ smb.conf changes
   Parameter Name                     Description             Default
   --------------                     -----------             -------
 
+NT4-style replication based net commands removed
+================================================
+
+The following commands and sub-commands have been removed from the
+"net" utility:
+
+net rpc samdump
+net rpc vampire ldif
+
+Also, replicating from a real NT4 domain with "net rpc vampire" and
+"net rpc vampire keytab" has been removed.
+
+The NT4-based commands were accidentially broken in 2013, and nobody
+noticed the breakage. So instead of fixing them including tests (which
+would have meant writing a server for the protocols, which we don't
+have) we decided to remove them.
+
+For the same reason, the "samsync", "samdeltas" and "database_redo"
+commands have been removed from rpcclient.
+
+"net rpc vampire keytab" from Active Directory domains continues to be
+supported.
 
 KNOWN ISSUES
 ============