WHATSNEW. Add text for Open File Description (OFD) locks.
authorJeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Thu, 21 Jul 2016 23:24:59 +0000 (16:24 -0700)
committerRalph Boehme <slow@samba.org>
Fri, 22 Jul 2016 12:13:51 +0000 (14:13 +0200)
Signed-off-by: Jeremy Allison <jra@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Ralph Boehme <slow@samba.org>
Autobuild-User(master): Ralph B√∂hme <slow@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date(master): Fri Jul 22 14:13:52 CEST 2016 on sn-devel-144

WHATSNEW.txt

index 2cda3750ebcea40b3cef38a5d692ea2c6d8eda4d..7d2405b6058487be8b2bffeca2349fb44b9ea849 100644 (file)
@@ -135,6 +135,17 @@ by SMB 1 oplocks. This feature was disabled in previous releases, but
 the SMB2 leasing code is now considered mature and stable enough to be
 enabled by default.
 
+Open File Description (OFD) Locks
+---------------------------------
+
+On systems that support them (currently only Linux), the fileserver now
+uses Open File Description (OFD) locks instead of POSIX locks to implement
+client byte range locks. As these locks are associated with a specific
+file descriptor on a file this allows more efficient use when multiple
+descriptors having file locks are opened onto the same file. An internal
+tunable "smbd:force process locks = true" may be used to turn off OFD
+locks if there appear to be problems with them.
+
 REMOVED FEATURES
 ================