man pages: Add note about standard process model
authorTim Beale <timbeale@catalyst.net.nz>
Thu, 31 Jan 2019 00:30:07 +0000 (13:30 +1300)
committerAndrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Fri, 1 Feb 2019 02:36:16 +0000 (03:36 +0100)
Calling this model the 'standard' model made a lot more sense when it
was the default. Add a small note explaining that it has this name for
historical reasons.

(The term 'standard' may have originally been chosen for some other
reason. However, it's hard to find the rationale behind the term from
back in 2005)

Signed-off-by: Tim Beale <timbeale@catalyst.net.nz>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
docs-xml/manpages/samba.8.xml

index 8d548d8..35b3e9f 100644 (file)
                        <para>A process is created for each Samba service,
                        and for those services that support it (currently only
                        LDAP and NETLOGON) a new processes is started
-                       for each new client connection.</para></listitem>
+                       for each new client connection.</para>
+
+                       <para>Historically, this was the 'standard' way Samba behaved
+                       up until v4.10. Note that this model can be resource intensive
+                       if you have a large number of client connections.</para>
+                       </listitem>
 
                        <listitem><para><emphasis>prefork</emphasis></para>
                        <para>The default. A process is started for each Samba service,