docs: mention AD prerequirements for using idmap_ad
authorBjörn Jacke <bj@sernet.de>
Wed, 15 May 2013 13:52:25 +0000 (15:52 +0200)
committerBjoern Jacke <bj@sernet.de>
Fri, 17 May 2013 14:10:23 +0000 (16:10 +0200)
Reviewed-by: Stefan Metzmacher <metze@samba.org>
docs-xml/manpages/idmap_ad.8.xml

index 2ae7fc8..0e33b77 100644 (file)
        id mappings from an AD server that uses RFC2307/SFU schema
        extensions. This module implements only the &quot;idmap&quot;
        API, and is READONLY. Mappings must be provided in advance
-       by the administrator by adding the posixAccount/posixGroup
-       classes and relative attribute/value pairs to the user and
-       group objects in the AD.</para>
+       by the administrator by adding the uidNumber attributes for
+       users and gidNumber attributes for groups in the AD. Winbind
+       will only map users that have a uidNumber and whose primary
+       group have a gidNumber attribute set. It is however
+       recommended that all groups in use have gidNumber attributes
+       assigned, otherwise they are not working.</para>
 
        <para>
        Currently, the <parameter>ad</parameter> backend