WHATSNEW: Mention removed net serverid subcommands
authorVolker Lendecke <vl@samba.org>
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 10:24:55 +0000 (11:24 +0100)
committerRalph Boehme <slow@samba.org>
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 16:54:18 +0000 (17:54 +0100)
Signed-off-by: Volker Lendecke <vl@samba.org>
Reviewed-by: Ralph Boehme <slow@samba.org>
Autobuild-User(master): Ralph B√∂hme <slow@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date(master): Tue Dec  5 17:54:18 CET 2017 on sn-devel-144

WHATSNEW.txt

index 3acadc3eb26b9ac6de7135cd2279431364f6f729..8f5986ec55ef4ffb5307b608f60b0d066347409b 100644 (file)
@@ -83,6 +83,23 @@ reversed to match the parameter ordering of the UNIX extensions
 'symlink' command. The usage message for this command has also
 been improved to remove confusion.
 
+REMOVED FEATURES
+================
+
+The two commands "net serverid list" and "net serverid wipe" have been
+removed, because the file serverid.tdb is not used anymore.
+
+"net serverid list" can be replaced by listing all files in the
+subdirectory "msg.lock" of Samba's "lock directory". The unique id
+listed by "net serverid list" is stored in every process' lockfile in
+"msg.lock".
+
+"net serverid wipe" is not necessary anymore. It was meant primarily
+for clustered environments, where the serverid.tdb file was not
+properly cleaned up after single node crashes. Nowadays smbd and
+winbind take care of cleaning up the msg.lock and msg.sock directories
+automatically.
+
 KNOWN ISSUES
 ============