r26373: add note about shared libs being problematic with static data.
authorJelmer Vernooij <jelmer@samba.org>
Mon, 10 Dec 2007 09:29:38 +0000 (10:29 +0100)
committerStefan Metzmacher <metze@samba.org>
Fri, 21 Dec 2007 04:49:08 +0000 (05:49 +0100)
(This used to be commit 7b186ee310dab70e9ef8e4ef06e6afbf5233cc99)

prog_guide.txt

index f5ac600f88032c89e7837bb51384f8197e48c42f..3814a11a4ef531d58acd1bdf25b8399a5fca82b1 100644 (file)
@@ -146,6 +146,7 @@ Static data is evil as it has the following consequences:
  - it makes code much less likely to be recursion-safe
  - it leads to subtle side effects when the same code is called from
    multiple places
+ - doesn't play well with shared libraries or plugins
 
 Static data is particularly evil in library code (such as our internal
 smb and rpc libraries). If you can get rid of all static data in