WHATSNEW: standard process limits
authorGary Lockyer <gary@catalyst.net.nz>
Wed, 19 Sep 2018 03:52:15 +0000 (15:52 +1200)
committerAndrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Fri, 30 Nov 2018 14:05:04 +0000 (15:05 +0100)
Signed-off-by: Gary Lockyer <gary@catalyst.net.nz>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Autobuild-User(master): Andrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date(master): Fri Nov 30 15:05:04 CET 2018 on sn-devel-144

WHATSNEW.txt

index 23a88c2..5054363 100644 (file)
@@ -75,6 +75,15 @@ delay between restart attempts up until it reaches "prefork maximum backoff".
 Using the default sequence the restart delays (in seconds) are:
   0, 10, 20, ..., 120, 120, ...
 
+standard process model
+----------------------
+
+When using the standard process model samba forks a new process to handle ldap
+and netlogon connections.  Samba now honours the 'max smbd processes' smb.conf
+parameter.  The default value of 0, indicates there is no limit.  The limit
+is applied individually to netlogon and ldap.  When the process limit is
+exceeded Samba drops new connections immediately.
+
 REMOVED FEATURES
 ================