doc: suggest samba-tool dbcheck in upgrading-samba4.txt
authorAndrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Mon, 12 Sep 2011 10:41:29 +0000 (20:41 +1000)
committerAndrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Mon, 12 Sep 2011 12:24:20 +0000 (14:24 +0200)
Autobuild-User: Andrew Bartlett <abartlet@samba.org>
Autobuild-Date: Mon Sep 12 14:24:20 CEST 2011 on sn-devel-104

upgrading-samba4.txt

index 9dc4636..3e9ffe0 100644 (file)
@@ -7,12 +7,15 @@ Upgrading from an older samba4 installation.
   go into the directory where your samba4 provision is stored (/usr/local/samba by default)
   do tar cf $HOME/backup.tar private etc var sysvol
 * Go into the source4 dir
-* run ./scripting/bin/upgradeprovision -s <path to smb.conf in samba4 install>
 * do make install
+* run 'samba-tool dbcheck'
 
-This will do the minimum (safest) upgrade of the data.  
+This will do a consistency check of the data, and is all most existing
+installations will require.
 
-Runing upgradeprovision with --full will do a more comprehensive
-upgrade of the data (including schema and display specifiers).  This
-attempts to do a new provision, and to then copy existing data into
-that database.
+If you are upgrading from a quite old provision (Samba 4.0 alpha 13 or
+earlier) then running upgradeprovision will do an upgrade of security
+descriptors, and upgradeprovision --full will perform a more
+comprehensive upgrade of the data (including schema and display
+specifiers).  This attempts to do a new provision, and to then copy
+existing data into that database.