JHT ===> Added comment about internationaliasation and deleted dates.
[samba.git] / docs / manpages / samba.7
1 .TH SAMBA 7 Samba Samba
2 .SH NAME
3 Samba \- a LanManager like fileserver for UNIX
4 .SH SYNOPSIS
5 .B Samba
6 .SH DESCRIPTION
7 The
8 .B Samba
9 software suite is a collection of programs that implements the SMB
10 protocol for UNIX systems. This protocol is sometimes also referred to
11 as the LanManager or Netbios protocol.
12 .SH COMPONENTS
13
14 The Samba suite is made up of several components. Each component is
15 described in a separate manual page. It is strongly recommended that
16 you read the documentation that comes with Samba and the manual pages
17 of those components that you use. If the manual pages aren't clear
18 enough then please send me a patch!
19
20 The
21 .BR smbd (8)
22 daemon provides the file and print services to SMB clients,
23 such as Windows for Workgroups, Windows NT or LanManager. The
24 configuration file for this daemon is described in
25 .BR smb.conf (5).
26
27 The
28 .BR nmbd (8)
29 daemon provides Netbios nameserving and browsing
30 support. It can also be run interactively to query other name service
31 daemons.
32
33 The
34 .BR smbclient (1)
35 program implements a simple ftp-like client. This is
36 useful for accessing SMB shares on other compatible servers (such as
37 WfWg), and can also be used to allow a UNIX box to print to a printer
38 attached to any SMB server (such as a PC running WfWg).
39
40 The
41 .BR testparm (1)
42 utility allows you to test your
43 .BR smb.conf (5)
44 configuration file.
45
46 The
47 .BR smbstatus (1)
48 utility allows you to tell who is currently using the
49 .BR smbd (8)
50 server.
51 .SH AVAILABILITY
52
53 The Samba software suite is licensed under the Gnu Public License. A
54 copy of that license should have come with the package. You are
55 encouraged to distribute copies of the Samba suite, but please keep it
56 intact.
57
58 The latest version of the Samba suite can be obtained via anonymous
59 ftp from samba.anu.edu.au in the directory pub/samba/. It is
60 also available on several mirror sites worldwide.
61
62 You may also find useful information about Samba on the newsgroup
63 comp.protocols.smb and the Samba mailing list. Details on how to join
64 the mailing list are given in the README file that comes with Samba.
65
66 If you have access to a WWW viewer (such as Netscape or Mosaic) then
67 you will also find lots of useful information, including back issues
68 of the Samba mailing list, at http://samba.canberra.edu.au/pub/samba/
69 .SH AUTHOR
70
71 The main author of the Samba suite is Andrew Tridgell. He may be
72 contacted via e-mail at samba-bugs@samba.anu.edu.au.
73
74 There have also been an enormous number of contributors to Samba from
75 all over the world. A partial list of these contributors is included
76 in the CREDITS section below. The list is, however, badly out of
77 date. More up to date info may be obtained from the change-log that
78 comes with the Samba source code.
79 .SH CONTRIBUTIONS
80
81 If you wish to contribute to the Samba project, then I suggest you
82 join the Samba mailing list.
83
84 If you have patches to submit or bugs to report then you may mail them
85 directly to samba-bugs@samba.anu.edu.au. Note, however, that due to the
86 enormous popularity of this package I may take some time to repond to
87 mail. I prefer patches in "diff \-u" format.
88 .SH CREDITS
89
90 Contributors to the project are (in alphabetical order by email address):
91
92 (NOTE: This list is very out of date)
93
94  Adams, Graham
95         (gadams@ddrive.demon.co.uk)
96  Allison, Jeremy
97         (jeremy@netcom.com)
98  Andrus, Ross
99         (ross@augie.insci.com)
100  Auer, Karl
101         (Karl.Auer@anu.edu.au)
102  Bogstad, Bill
103         (bogstad@cs.jhu.edu)
104  Boreham, Bryan
105         (Bryan@alex.com)
106  Boreham, David
107         (davidb@ndl.co.uk)
108  Butler, Michael
109         (imb@asstdc.scgt.oz.au)
110  ???
111         (charlie@edina.demon.co.uk)
112  Chua, Michael
113         (lpc@solomon.technet.sg)
114  Cochran, Marc
115         (mcochran@wellfleet.com)
116  Dey, Martin N
117         (mnd@netmgrs.co.uk)
118  Errath, Maximilian
119         (errath@balu.kfunigraz.ac.at)
120  Fisher, Lee
121         (leefi@microsoft.com)
122  Foderaro, Sean
123         (jkf@frisky.Franz.COM)
124  Greer, Brad
125         (brad@cac.washington.edu)
126  Griffith, Michael A
127         (grif@cs.ucr.edu)
128  Grosen, Mark
129         (MDGrosen@spectron.COM)
130  ????
131         (gunjkoa@dep.sa.gov.au)
132  Haapanen, Tom
133         (tomh@metrics.com)
134  Hench, Mike
135         (hench@cae.uwm.edu)
136  Horstman, Mark A
137         (mh2620@sarek.sbc.com)
138  Hudson, Tim
139         (tim.hudson@gslmail.mincom.oz.au)
140  Hulthen, Erik Magnus
141         (magnus@axiom.se)
142  ???
143         (imb@asstdc.scgt.oz.au)
144  Iversen, Per Steinar
145         (iversen@dsfys1.fi.uib.no)
146  Kaara, Pasi
147         (ppk@atk.tpo.fi)
148  Karman, Merik
149         (merik@blackadder.dsh.oz.au)
150  Kiff, Martin
151         (mgk@newton.npl.co.uk)
152  Kiick, Chris
153         (cjkiick@flinx.b11.ingr.com)
154  Kukulies, Christoph
155         (kuku@acds.physik.rwth-aachen.de)
156  ???
157         (lance@fox.com)
158  Leighton, Luke
159         (lkcl@pires.co.uk)
160  Lendecke, Volker
161         (lendecke@namu01.gwdg.de)
162  ???
163         (lonnie@itg.ti.com)
164  Mahoney, Paul Thomas
165         (ptm@xact1.xact.com)
166  Mauelshagen, Heinz
167         (mauelsha@ez.da.telekom.de)
168  Merrick, Barry G
169         (bgm@atml.co.uk)
170  Mol, Marcel
171         (marcel@fanout.et.tudeflt.nl)
172  ???
173         (njw@cpsg.com.au)
174  ???
175         (noses@oink.rhein.de)
176  Owens, John
177         (john@micros.com)
178  Pierson, Jacques
179         (pierson@ketje.enet.dec.com)
180  Powell, Mark
181         (mark@scot1.ucsalf.ac.uk)
182  Reiz, Steven
183         (sreiz@aie.nl)
184  Schlaeger, Joerg
185         (joergs@toppoint.de)
186  S{rkel{, Vesa
187         (vesku@rankki.kcl.fi)
188  Terpstra, John
189         (jht@aquasoft.com.au)
190  Tridgell, Andrew
191         (samba-bugs@samba.anu.edu.au)
192  Troyer, Dean
193         (troyer@saifr00.ateng.az.honeywell.com)
194  Wakelin, Ross
195         (rossw@march.co.uk)
196  Wessels, Stefan
197         (SWESSELS@dos-lan.cs.up.ac.za)
198  Young, Ian A
199         (iay@threel.co.uk)
200  van der Zwan, Paul
201         (paulzn@olivetti.nl)
202