rsync.git
10 years agoSwitch over to Matt's idea of using FLAG_OWNED_BY_US.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 06:10:43 +0000 (22:10 -0800)]
Switch over to Matt's idea of using FLAG_OWNED_BY_US.

10 years agoMove FLAG_DEL_NEEDS_UID into the "not stored" section.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 04:52:38 +0000 (20:52 -0800)]
Move FLAG_DEL_NEEDS_UID into the "not stored" section.

10 years agoFix a random flist data bug w/delete, inc-recurse, and no -o.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 30 Jan 2011 03:25:53 +0000 (19:25 -0800)]
Fix a random flist data bug w/delete, inc-recurse, and no -o.
Fixes bug 7936.

10 years agoOptimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 17 Jan 2011 01:06:54 +0000 (17:06 -0800)]
Optimize finding the sum that matches our --inplace position.

10 years agoMake sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 18:29:54 +0000 (10:29 -0800)]
Make sure an alternate --inplace sum has the right length
and add missing break in --inplace same-offset loop.

10 years agoSome fixes and improvements from the master branch.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Jan 2011 07:03:59 +0000 (23:03 -0800)]
Some fixes and improvements from the master branch.

10 years agoAvoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 04:05:54 +0000 (20:05 -0800)]
Avoid splitting a multi-byte character when trimming a name.
Fixes bug 7816.  Also makes the get_tmpname() code and comments
more like the master.

10 years agoMention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 4 Jan 2011 03:49:05 +0000 (19:49 -0800)]
Mention that sorting the --files-from input is helpful.

10 years agoAvoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 3 Jan 2011 19:07:47 +0000 (11:07 -0800)]
Avoid reading ACL/xattr info on filetypes not being copied.
Make Linux avoid xattr access on symlinks.
Make OS X avoid xattr access on device/special files.
Fixes bug 5458.

10 years agoMention the latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:51:47 +0000 (11:51 -0800)]
Mention the latest changes.

10 years agoMake xattrs.test more like the master version.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 01:40:23 +0000 (17:40 -0800)]
Make xattrs.test more like the master version.

10 years agoAvoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 2 Jan 2011 00:39:55 +0000 (16:39 -0800)]
Avoid directory permission issues with --fake-super.
Fixes bug 7070.

10 years agoReport all socket connection errors if we fail.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 21:54:16 +0000 (13:54 -0800)]
Report all socket connection errors if we fail.
Fixes bug 6588.

10 years agoItemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:54:07 +0000 (12:54 -0800)]
Itemize xattrs of a missing dir from an alt-dest dir.
Fixes bug 6576.

10 years agoUse full_fname() for system error messages.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 20:29:36 +0000 (12:29 -0800)]
Use full_fname() for system error messages.

10 years agoTweak the year.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Jan 2011 19:27:40 +0000 (11:27 -0800)]
Tweak the year.

10 years agoProtect a remote filename that starts with a dash.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 23 Dec 2010 17:26:39 +0000 (09:26 -0800)]
Protect a remote filename that starts with a dash.

10 years agoTweak some apostrophes to make editor highlighting less problematic.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 19 Dec 2010 17:00:39 +0000 (09:00 -0800)]
Tweak some apostrophes to make editor highlighting less problematic.

10 years agoOptimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:27:03 +0000 (08:27 -0800)]
Optimize --inplace chunck search to avoid a non-aligned search.

10 years agoMention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:17:03 +0000 (08:17 -0800)]
Mention seek effect of an unmoved --inplace chunk.

10 years agoImprove description of --chmod example.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 18 Dec 2010 16:13:52 +0000 (08:13 -0800)]
Improve description of --chmod example.

10 years agoFix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 17 Dec 2010 06:15:04 +0000 (22:15 -0800)]
Fix crash when --backup-dir is excessively long.

10 years agoSome quoting fixes/improvements.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:41:46 +0000 (08:41 -0700)]
Some quoting fixes/improvements.

10 years agoIf we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:25:19 +0000 (08:25 -0700)]
If we create an off_t type, define SIZEOF_OFF_T.

10 years agoFix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 15:09:20 +0000 (08:09 -0700)]
Fix rsync_xal_set reference in an error.

10 years agoAvoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 18:26:21 +0000 (11:26 -0700)]
Avoid infinite loop if the file's length is negative.
Fixes bug 4664.

10 years agoMention need of wildcard support in make.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 15:27:20 +0000 (08:27 -0700)]
Mention need of wildcard support in make.
See bug 7625.

10 years agoRemove duplication for -x option.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Aug 2010 14:58:22 +0000 (07:58 -0700)]
Remove duplication for -x option.

11 years agoA couple more NEWS items.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 16:30:44 +0000 (09:30 -0700)]
A couple more NEWS items.

11 years agoAlways use lchmod() if it is available.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 22:10:38 +0000 (14:10 -0800)]
Always use lchmod() if it is available.

11 years agoMention what -XX (repeated --xattrs) does.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 6 Feb 2010 21:32:47 +0000 (13:32 -0800)]
Mention what -XX (repeated --xattrs) does.

11 years agoDocument the "copy-some-dirlinks" trick in the man page.
Matt McCutchen [Sun, 4 Oct 2009 05:24:50 +0000 (01:24 -0400)]
Document the "copy-some-dirlinks" trick in the man page.

Originally explained at:

http://lists.samba.org/archive/rsync/2006-February/014838.html

11 years agoFix erroneous "--fake-user" in the rsyncd.conf(5) man page.
Matt McCutchen [Mon, 8 Feb 2010 02:00:02 +0000 (21:00 -0500)]
Fix erroneous "--fake-user" in the rsyncd.conf(5) man page.

11 years agoIn "ignoring unsafe symlink" messages, show only the file-list path.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:53:42 +0000 (00:53 -0400)]
In "ignoring unsafe symlink" messages, show only the file-list path.

Rsync was showing the full destination path, which was confusing because
nothing is created at that path and was especially bogus in combination
with the source name of a solo file.

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=506830

11 years agoMore NEWS.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:56:09 +0000 (08:56 -0700)]
More NEWS.

11 years agoIf a module has no path setting, return an error.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:54:40 +0000 (08:54 -0700)]
If a module has no path setting, return an error.

11 years agoMention latest changes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:49:46 +0000 (08:49 -0700)]
Mention latest changes.

11 years agoRefer to the right lsetxattr() caller in a error message.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:14:02 +0000 (08:14 -0700)]
Refer to the right lsetxattr() caller in a error message.

11 years agoFix compression-ignoring of upper-case suffixes.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 16:47:00 +0000 (09:47 -0700)]
Fix compression-ignoring of upper-case suffixes.
Fixes bug 7512.

11 years agoFix a couple socketpair_tcp() issues (see bug 7514).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Jun 2010 16:29:42 +0000 (09:29 -0700)]
Fix a couple socketpair_tcp() issues (see bug 7514).

11 years agoFix a typo that Andrea Gelmini pointed out.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 19:06:45 +0000 (12:06 -0700)]
Fix a typo that Andrea Gelmini pointed out.

11 years agoGet rid of trailing whitespace.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 27 Mar 2010 19:05:01 +0000 (12:05 -0700)]
Get rid of trailing whitespace.

11 years agoMan page description of --xattrs should not assume a push.
Matt McCutchen [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 05:08:28 +0000 (01:08 -0400)]
Man page description of --xattrs should not assume a push.

11 years agoMore manpage improvements.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 17:52:04 +0000 (10:52 -0700)]
More manpage improvements.

11 years agoAmplify the man page description of --hard-links (see bug 3693), and
Matt McCutchen [Thu, 19 Nov 2009 05:18:23 +0000 (00:18 -0500)]
Amplify the man page description of --hard-links (see bug 3693), and
improve that of --inplace while I'm at it.

11 years agoReject passing an arg to an option that doesn't take one (bug 6915).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:27:38 +0000 (08:27 -0700)]
Reject passing an arg to an option that doesn't take one (bug 6915).
Based on a patch by Matt, but further tweaked to deal with -q=foo.

11 years agoMention 2010 in the main copyright.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:24:58 +0000 (08:24 -0700)]
Mention 2010 in the main copyright.

11 years agoMake an empty-string dest-dir the same as "." again.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 3 Jul 2010 15:23:31 +0000 (08:23 -0700)]
Make an empty-string dest-dir the same as "." again.

11 years agoSetup for 3.0.8dev.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Jun 2010 16:04:21 +0000 (09:04 -0700)]
Setup for 3.0.8dev.

11 years agoFixed inconsistencies reported by packaging/var-checker.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Jun 2010 15:58:40 +0000 (08:58 -0700)]
Fixed inconsistencies reported by packaging/var-checker.

11 years agoUpdate support/rrsync and some packaging/* scripts.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Jun 2010 15:22:59 +0000 (08:22 -0700)]
Update support/rrsync and some packaging/* scripts.

11 years agoRename configure.in to configure.ac, the current autoconf standard.
Matt McCutchen [Tue, 9 Feb 2010 01:45:39 +0000 (20:45 -0500)]
Rename configure.in to configure.ac, the current autoconf standard.

11 years agoWrite out the right compat_flags value into the batch file.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 23:14:15 +0000 (16:14 -0700)]
Write out the right compat_flags value into the batch file.

11 years agoTurn some asserts into descriptive errors.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 23:13:58 +0000 (16:13 -0700)]
Turn some asserts into descriptive errors.

11 years agoMake sure our use of idev_find() hashtable is right
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 23:13:20 +0000 (16:13 -0700)]
Make sure our use of idev_find() hashtable is right
while also supporting older rsyncs that send dev == 0.

11 years agoMake sure that the code doesn't try to use an illegal key.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 26 Jun 2010 18:32:14 +0000 (11:32 -0700)]
Make sure that the code doesn't try to use an illegal key.

11 years agoFix daemon-filter crash issue (bug 7489).
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 Jun 2010 06:10:47 +0000 (23:10 -0700)]
Fix daemon-filter crash issue (bug 7489).

11 years agoRemoving now-redundant path-size check from send_if_directory().
Wayne Davison [Wed, 31 Mar 2010 21:56:52 +0000 (14:56 -0700)]
Removing now-redundant path-size check from send_if_directory().

11 years agoFix directory-length overflow bug (7057).
Wayne Davison [Fri, 26 Mar 2010 23:56:40 +0000 (16:56 -0700)]
Fix directory-length overflow bug (7057).

11 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.7 v3.0.7
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 21:08:07 +0000 (13:08 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.7

11 years agoAllow any gcc to make use of __builtin_alloca for alloca.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 03:58:57 +0000 (19:58 -0800)]
Allow any gcc to make use of __builtin_alloca for alloca.

11 years agoConfigure check for -Wno-unused-parameter now tries to link too.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 31 Dec 2009 03:57:47 +0000 (19:57 -0800)]
Configure check for -Wno-unused-parameter now tries to link too.

11 years agoFixed the passing of a '/' modifier for an absolute-path filter rule.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 30 Dec 2009 20:25:33 +0000 (12:25 -0800)]
Fixed the passing of a '/' modifier for an absolute-path filter rule.

11 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.7pre2 v3.0.7pre2
Wayne Davison [Thu, 24 Dec 2009 16:31:37 +0000 (08:31 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.7pre2

11 years agoRevert to having the receiver handle timeouts on the receiving side.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 23 Dec 2009 19:31:28 +0000 (11:31 -0800)]
Revert to having the receiver handle timeouts on the receiving side.
This will give 3.0.7 the standard timeout handling with just a few
improvements: a fix for the detection of recent sender I/O, the use
of MSG_DATA for really old rsync versions, and better setting of
select_timeout for shorter timeout settings.

11 years agoPreparing for release of 3.0.7pre1 v3.0.7pre1
Wayne Davison [Tue, 22 Dec 2009 02:25:00 +0000 (18:25 -0800)]
Preparing for release of 3.0.7pre1

11 years agoEnsure that the generator gets notified about an I/O error for the dir
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2009 22:27:55 +0000 (14:27 -0800)]
Ensure that the generator gets notified about an I/O error for the dir
that generated the error.  This ensures that a --delete-during avoids
deleting in a newly transferred inc-recurse directory.  Requires 3.0.7
or greater on both sides of the transfer.

11 years agoDefer forwarding messages during the forwarding of flist data.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2009 21:48:44 +0000 (13:48 -0800)]
Defer forwarding messages during the forwarding of flist data.

11 years agoMention the compress fix.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2009 18:52:54 +0000 (10:52 -0800)]
Mention the compress fix.

11 years agoMention latest --timeout fixes.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2009 18:25:15 +0000 (10:25 -0800)]
Mention latest --timeout fixes.

11 years agoDon't die if inflate() returns Z_BUF_ERROR in see_deflate_token().
Wayne Davison [Mon, 21 Dec 2009 18:13:52 +0000 (10:13 -0800)]
Don't die if inflate() returns Z_BUF_ERROR in see_deflate_token().

11 years agoImprove --timeout method to take into account all socket I/O that is
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Dec 2009 21:38:25 +0000 (13:38 -0800)]
Improve --timeout method to take into account all socket I/O that is
going on.  The receiving side also switches timeout handling from the
receiver to the generator.  Given this setup, all keep-alive messages
are now sent as empty MSG_DATA messages, with MSG_NOOP messages only
being understood and (when necessary) acted upon to forward a keep-alive
event to an older receiver.  This is both safer and more compatible with
older versions.

11 years agoAdded an am_receiver variable.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 19 Dec 2009 18:14:49 +0000 (10:14 -0800)]
Added an am_receiver variable.

11 years agoUse 0-length MSG_DATA when MSG_NOOP is not available
Wayne Davison [Wed, 16 Dec 2009 21:32:03 +0000 (13:32 -0800)]
Use 0-length MSG_DATA when MSG_NOOP is not available
(is both safer and supports older rsyncs).

11 years agoAvoid -u option to id since solaris doesn't support it.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 14 Dec 2009 02:15:09 +0000 (18:15 -0800)]
Avoid -u option to id since solaris doesn't support it.

11 years agoGet rid of some unused externs.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 06:43:51 +0000 (22:43 -0800)]
Get rid of some unused externs.

11 years agoInclude info on who is exiting.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 06:42:35 +0000 (22:42 -0800)]
Include info on who is exiting.

11 years agoMention the newly cherry-picked changes.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 01:05:03 +0000 (17:05 -0800)]
Mention the newly cherry-picked changes.

11 years agoUse seteuid() (if available) when using setuid().
Wayne Davison [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 00:43:13 +0000 (16:43 -0800)]
Use seteuid() (if available) when using setuid().

11 years agoBeginning work on a 3.0.7 release.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 13 Dec 2009 00:20:54 +0000 (16:20 -0800)]
Beginning work on a 3.0.7 release.

11 years agoDon't (wrongly) retouch dir permissions with --fake-super.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 29 Nov 2009 05:46:42 +0000 (21:46 -0800)]
Don't (wrongly) retouch dir permissions with --fake-super.
(Patch from Matt.)

11 years agoAdd IPv6 detection on cygwin.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 26 Nov 2009 23:17:49 +0000 (15:17 -0800)]
Add IPv6 detection on cygwin.

11 years agoSave first filename and linenum in case exit_cleanup() recurses.
Wayne Davison [Sun, 8 Nov 2009 08:12:33 +0000 (00:12 -0800)]
Save first filename and linenum in case exit_cleanup() recurses.

11 years agoMoved some --iconv text that was supposed to be in --files-from.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 24 Oct 2009 07:23:21 +0000 (00:23 -0700)]
Moved some --iconv text that was supposed to be in --files-from.

11 years agoMake sure daemon's io_timeout is used as a maximum value.
Wayne Davison [Tue, 20 Oct 2009 22:05:15 +0000 (15:05 -0700)]
Make sure daemon's io_timeout is used as a maximum value.

11 years agoFix some man page problems Scott Kostyshak pointed out.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 17 Oct 2009 18:06:49 +0000 (11:06 -0700)]
Fix some man page problems Scott Kostyshak pointed out.

11 years agoAvoid type-punned compiler warnings for the byteorder.h macros
Wayne Davison [Wed, 14 Oct 2009 04:07:46 +0000 (21:07 -0700)]
Avoid type-punned compiler warnings for the byteorder.h macros
by using inline functions for the 4-char <-> uint32 conversions.

11 years agoImprove the "--delete does not work without -r or -d" message.
Wayne Davison [Mon, 7 Sep 2009 21:22:59 +0000 (14:22 -0700)]
Improve the "--delete does not work without -r or -d" message.

11 years agoImprove error handling and get rid of a lingering fprintf().
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 Sep 2009 17:25:42 +0000 (10:25 -0700)]
Improve error handling and get rid of a lingering fprintf().

11 years agoFix daemon's conveyance of io_error value from sender.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 Sep 2009 16:40:53 +0000 (09:40 -0700)]
Fix daemon's conveyance of io_error value from sender.

11 years agoAvoid an dry-run error trying to stat a prior hard-link
Wayne Davison [Sat, 5 Sep 2009 15:16:22 +0000 (08:16 -0700)]
Avoid an dry-run error trying to stat a prior hard-link
file that hasn't really been created.

11 years agoRebuild proto.h if config.h changes.
Wayne Davison [Wed, 2 Sep 2009 15:52:41 +0000 (08:52 -0700)]
Rebuild proto.h if config.h changes.

11 years agoFix the chmod-temp-dir test if /var/tmp doesn't exist.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 22 Aug 2009 16:33:55 +0000 (09:33 -0700)]
Fix the chmod-temp-dir test if /var/tmp doesn't exist.
Fixes bug 6569.

11 years agoGet section reference right. Fixes bug #6573.
Wayne Davison [Sat, 1 Aug 2009 18:28:45 +0000 (11:28 -0700)]
Get section reference right.  Fixes bug #6573.

11 years agoAdded solaris IPv6 checking to configure. Fixes #6438.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 5 Jun 2009 19:56:15 +0000 (12:56 -0700)]
Added solaris IPv6 checking to configure.  Fixes #6438.
Patch from Tim Spriggs.

11 years agoMention that --whole-file is not the default for a local transfer when
Wayne Davison [Mon, 1 Jun 2009 16:09:09 +0000 (09:09 -0700)]
Mention that --whole-file is not the default for a local transfer when
writing a batch file.

11 years agoSupport an older AIX system that doesn't have ENOTSUP.
Wayne Davison [Thu, 14 May 2009 18:23:38 +0000 (11:23 -0700)]
Support an older AIX system that doesn't have ENOTSUP.

11 years agoSwitch from inet_aton() to inet_pton() (since we supply a compatibility
Wayne Davison [Thu, 14 May 2009 18:22:37 +0000 (11:22 -0700)]
Switch from inet_aton() to inet_pton() (since we supply a compatibility
function for the latter, it will always exist).

11 years agoAllow $RSYNC_TEST_TMP to indicate a good tmp dir for our tests.
Wayne Davison [Fri, 10 Apr 2009 15:19:16 +0000 (08:19 -0700)]
Allow $RSYNC_TEST_TMP to indicate a good tmp dir for our tests.

11 years agoFix a bogus free in uncache_tmp_xattrs().
Wayne Davison [Fri, 14 Aug 2009 14:04:24 +0000 (07:04 -0700)]
Fix a bogus free in uncache_tmp_xattrs().