s3:smbd:password_in_history: treat entry with 0 salt as 0 + plain nt hash
authorMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Tue, 5 Jan 2010 15:58:30 +0000 (16:58 +0100)
committerMichael Adam <obnox@samba.org>
Thu, 7 Jan 2010 15:51:17 +0000 (16:51 +0100)
commit667b6f3322ba97bc2e50067dccda9949bb21eaa0
treede5872197f1c0b6256aa78ad8faa959ed37ccc84
parent801edeccc6f529647eaed0dd23728a257cf9479f
s3:smbd:password_in_history: treat entry with 0 salt as 0 + plain nt hash

This is to introduce a new format of the password history, maintaining backwards
compatibility: The old format was 16 byte hash + 16 byte md5(salt + nt hash).
The new format is 16 zero bytes and 16 bytes nt hash.

This will allow us to respect the last X entries of the nt password history
when deciding whether to increment the bad password count.

This is part of the fix for bug #4347 .

Michael
source3/smbd/chgpasswd.c